RMI Standards and Certification

Call: 01788 538 399

Training Accreditation

RMISC has been appointed by the Retail Motor Industry Federation to accredit its training courses. This includes courses run at its training academies and also at member’s premises  including the qualification to become a newly qualified MOT Tester. The way MOT testers were trained changed in 2016, with the role becoming a National Occupational Standard (NOS). Under the RMISC banner, the RMI assisted in the development of the course and became one of the first organisations to gain accreditation to carry out and certify the recognised qualification for testers, creating a professional standard for both the role and the MOT industry.

RMISC has been accredited by the Institute of the Motor Industry (IMI) and ABC Awards to run various courses including:

  • Level 2 Award in MOT Testing (Classes 1 and 2)
  • Level 2 Award in MOT Testing (Classes 4 and 7)
  • Level 3 Award in MOT Test Centre Management
  • VTAA Light Vehicle Inspection Technician
  • Air Conditioning Refrigerant Handler Accreditation
  • Electric/Hybrid Vehicle Routine Maintenance Activities Level 2
  • Electric/Hybrid Vehicle System Repair and Replacement Level 3
  • Electric/Hybrid Vehicle Awareness and Safety Programme
  • Diagnostic Strategy Programme
  • Electrics Level 1 and Multi-meter Programme
  • MOT Annual Assessment